Rice ordered Bush to stay away from Washington on 9/11 – NYPOST.com

September 8, 2010 § Leave a comment

“The president got on the phone, and he said, ‘I’m coming back.’ I said, ‘You cannot come back here. The United States of America is under attack, you have to go to safety, we don’t know what is going on here,’ ” Rice, who was the national security adviser at the time, recalled in a British TV documentary set to air Saturday, the ninth anniversary of the terror attacks.

CONDOLEEZZA RICE - She hung up on him!

CONDOLEEZZA RICE
She hung up on him!

“He said, ‘I’m coming back.’ I said, ‘You can’t.’ I said to him in a raised voice, and I had never raised my voice to the president before, I said, ‘You cannot come back here.’ I hung up.”

“I’ve known the president a long time, and I knew that he wanted nothing more than to be there at the helm,” she said.

Instead, Bush was stuck trying to manage the situation from Florida — at one point forced to rely on unsecured phone lines because the government’s communications system had failed, she said, according to London’s Daily Mail, which quoted the documentary yesterday.

kate.sheehy@nypost.com

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rice ordered Bush to stay away from Washington on 9/11 – NYPOST.com at Push Back Tyranny.

meta

